## 1980 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS



Dr. Joseph H. Flynn, of the Polymer Science and Standards Division of the National Bureau of Standards, is the 1980 recipient of the Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. He accepted the award from Mr. W. Wallace Lummis, President, Mettler Instrument Corporation, at the 10th North American Thermal Analysis Society meeting held last October in Boston, MA. The Award is "given to acknowledge and encourage work in and distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis".

Dr. Flynn has spent his entire professional career as a research chemist with the National Bureau of Standards. In his 28 years there, he has written approximately 50 publications in the fields of heterogeneous catalysis, polymer pyrolysis, oxidation, irradiation and photolysis, isothermal and non-isothermal chemical kinetics, theory and techniques of DSC and TG.

268 EVENTS

Dr. Flynn is a widely known lecturer on thermal analysis and its application in polymer science, especially regarding degradation studies. He is a member of several societies, including the American Academy for the Advancement of Science, and is a fellow of the Washington Academy of Science. He is on the Executive Committee of both NATAS and ASTM.

The Mettler Award has now been presented to thirteen distinguished scientists since its inception in 1968 and subsequent affiliation with the NATAS meetings. Recipients have been honored from seven countries — Japan, Poland, England, Scotland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and the United States — and represent research groups, private industry, and educational institutions.